This Is Our Youth on Broadway: Show Is Now Closed

Regular Price Tickets
Icon Image
Secondary Market

This Is Our Youth Summary

  • Show Status: Closed
  • Genre: Play - Revival
  • This Is Our Youth is 2.5 Hours long, including an intermission of 15 Minutes
  • 8 Shows per week
  • Previews Began: August 18, 2014
  • Show Opened : September 11, 2014
  • Show Closed: January 4, 2015

This Is Our Youth is a play originally written in 1996 by dramatist and filmmaker Kenneth Lonergan. It is the story of adrift adolescents in the Reagan era, exploring the issues of youth and maturity.

This Is Our Youth on Broadway Background

Originally having premiered Off-Broadway and also having run in the West End of London, this is the show’s Broadway premiere. Directed by Anna D. Shapiro (Motherf**ker With The Hat), this production will star Michael Cera making his Broadway debut, along with Kieran Culkin and Tavi Gevinson. The writing is perceptive and witty, and it is sure to be an enjoyable time for audience members who like theatre that is both profound and relatable, exploring contemporary themes that are still relevant decades after their original conception.

What’s This Is Our Youth Like?

The lead actors are young film stars who are sure to shine on stage. The plot of the play involves adult themes such as cocaine use, abusive parents, and sexual exploits. Despite the less than upbeat themes, the story explores its characters with a great deal of love and heart, as well as a lot of humor.

Is This Is Our Youth Good for Kids?

This show may be inappropriate for children aged 13 and under. It involves depictions of drugs, sex, and immorality. Children under the age of 4 are not permitted in the theatre.

Theatre Information

James Earl Jones Theatre

138 West 48th Street
New York, NY 10019
Seats: 1,102
Entrance: 48th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues
Theatre Information

James Earl Jones Theatre Seating Chart

This Is Our Youth Marquee

This Is Our Youth Marquee

Cast Members

Warren Straub
Michael Cera
Dennis Ziegler
Kieran Culkin
Jessica Goldman
Tavi Gevinson


Scott Rudin

Steppenwolf Theatre Company

Production Credits

Anna D. Shapiro
Scenic Designer
Todd Rosenthal
Costume Designer
Ann Roth
Lighting Designer
Brian MacDevitt
Sound Designer
Rob Millburn + Michael Bodeen
Kenneth Lonergan
Original Music
Rostam Batmanglij

Creative Team

General Manager
Joey Parnes Productions LLC
Company Manager
Kit Ingui at Joey Parnes Productions LLC
Production Manager
Aurora Productions
Press Agent
Philip Rinaldi Publicity